Germany is a state that lies between the North Sea and the Alps in Central Europe. East of the Czech Republic and Poland; south Austria, Switzerland; west France, the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg; Denmark and is located north of the North Sea. Germany, one in the Baltic Sea, the other has two islands in the North Sea. Baltic Sea island of Fehmarn 185 km2, is located north of Sylt island of 99 square kilometers.